Getting to first base with Jamie!

Introduce Yourself & Tell Us Your Personal Journey With Guitar. Whether new here, or an old timer, we want to hear YOUR love story with the guitar!

Moderator: admin

Getting to first base with Jamie!

Postby ckeelan » Tue Sep 21, 2010 2:41 pm

Wait, that didn't sound right!

I'm coming back to the guitar after 22 years away from it, and looking forward to getting better at it than I ever was as a teenager. I did complete a bachelor's degree in music and theatre, but voice was my instrument and I gave up my classical guitar studies when school responsibilities put a crimp in my time. Once I graduated, I opted for paying the bills, rather than living the dream and now, at 40, I'm feeling the itch to perform. That, and my wife has been bugging me for years to start singing again.

Because I'm busy with a job, earning an accounting designation and raising a 7 year old daugter, my initial goals have to be modest. Right now, I'm only interested in getting to "first base": strumming and playing, because I just don't have the time to delve more deeply into the instrument. But I'd like to build a good foundation of practice so that when I'm finished my accounting courses I'll have the tools to grow as a guitarist.

So I my first webcam lesson with Jamie is next Monday, and I have to say that this is the coolest thing I've done in a long time. Can't wait to get started all over again!

~ C
ckeelan

Re: Getting to first base with Jamie!

Postby Stan » Tue Sep 21, 2010 7:16 pm

Right on!

A lesson with Jamie is worth it's weight in gold, both in the information you get and in motivation you derive from that...

And once you get into a practice routine - it stops feeling like "work" very soon :D :lol: :D

Stan
Start where you are,
use what you have,
do what you can.

Arthur Ashe
Stan

Postby ckeelan » Wed Sep 29, 2010 1:03 am

Hey Stan,