Lou Here!

Introduce Yourself & Tell Us Your Personal Journey With Guitar. Whether new here, or an old timer, we want to hear YOUR love story with the guitar!

Moderator: admin

Lou Here!

Postby LASousa » Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:37 pm

Hello all. Well a bit of background. I am 52. I am a business attorney practicing in Providence Rhode Island since graduating from Villanova Law in 1983. Seems like yesterday. I have a beautiful wife Catherine and two daughters Emily age 14 and Marguerite age 17. Marguerite is beginning preparation for college. Emily is a high school freshman and a real jock. For 20 years we were avid sailors, trekking all over Vineyard Sound and the Massachusetts coast, thru Rhode Island coastal waters and a few times into Long Island sound. I suffered a terrible personal setback about 3 1/2 years ago. Around that time I was rummaging through my mom's garage to gather some supplies to work on my boat when I stumbled across an old Yamaha FG 331 that I had purchased in college. I picked it up and thought it would be a good idea to pursue this idea that started when I was 20 years old. So I brought the guitar home. Remarkably it survived years of heat and cold in good shape. I waxed her up, learned how to change strings and bought a Mel Bay book. I then graduated to taking lessons here at a music school. Music was and is a large part of my recovery from a personal bottom, and from a recent traumatic event. I have made many great friends through it, interesting and imaginative people. I love playing in the third floor of our beautiful old home, surrounded by my books, every album I ever purchased, with the windows open taking in the fresh air. I love the quiet and solitude that comes from communing with my instrument(s). I have also become the pied piper of guitars. I am always dabbling in buying and restoring guitars, and have donated several to Guitars for Vets an organization that gives guitars and guitar lessons in VA hospitals. I love introducing young